Italy reopens its borders to European countries

On June 3rd Italy started the next phase of the Coronavirus emergency as the country welcomes travelers from the European Union and Schengen area countries including:
a) Member States of the European Union;
b) States part of the Schengen Agreement;
c) United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland;
d) Andorra, Principality of Monaco;
c) The Republic of San Marino and Vatican City
This means that the travel restrictions for these states were lifted and the 14 days quarantine upon arrival is no longer required.

Italians will also be able to travel to most EU and Schengen area countries, with several exceptions including Greece which reopens its borders to Italy on 15 June, and those coming from the Northern part of Italy (Lombardy, Emilia-Romagna, Piemonte, and Veneto) will be tested and quarantined.

Travel to other Italian regions

Another major step is the removal of the restrictions prohibiting travel between Italian regions, opening up the possibility to visit family and go on holiday.

Italian Attractions

Most of Italy’s attractions such as museums and archaeological sites have reopened, from the Colosseum to Pompeii and the Vatican Museums, under strict conditions including advanced online booking, wearing masks, following marked paths and maintaining social distancing.

Prevention Measures

In addition to social distancing, it will remain necessary to wear a mask in public places such as shops, hairdressers, and on all public transport, including planes. Hugs and kisses are still reserved only for cohabiting family members, not friends, and the gathering of crowds remains prohibited.

For more information, you can visit the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website on this link.

Share to

Let's start planning your next trip!

Visit our contact page, we would love to chat with you!